Twin Cities Cardozo Society


An affinity group for Jewish attorneys, judges and law students. Join the legal community for educational programs, cultural events, and relationship-building opportunities to enhance your professional life as well as your personal connection to the Jewish community.

Royee Vlodaver, Andrew Parker, The Honorable Myron Greenberg, Alan Silver, Phyllis Karasov and Jesse Kibort at the 16th Annual Cardozo Society Dinner. See more photos here. 

Pro Bono Opportunity


Every Monday from 1-4 p.m., the Twin Cities Cardozo Society partners with Mid-Minnesota Legal Assistance and the Minnesota Legal Aid Society to offer 30 minute free legal consultations to low-income individuals at the Urban League in North Minneapolis. This partnership began in 2008 as an initiative of Public Service Committee of the Twin Cities Cardozo Society led by Shira Shapiro. It has provided an engaging opportunity for Jewish attorneys to give back to their local community. Volunteers are needed on an ongoing basis. if you are interested in learning more or signing up to volunteer, contact Shira Shapiro of Robins, Kaplan, Miller & Ciresi L.L.P. at or 612-349-8500.

Community Awards


The Twin Cities Cardozo Society was founded in 1997. Since its inception, the Cardozo Society has established tow awards that honor lawyers, judges or law students from our community, both in which are presented at the Annual Dinner held in the Fall of every year. These awards are:

Sidney Barrows Lifetime Commitment Award


The Sidney Barrows Lifetime Commitment Award was created in 2000, in memory of Sidney Barrows, one of the founding chairs of the Cardozo Society. This award is given annually to "a senior" attorney or judge in the Twin Cities who exemplifies excellence in his/her practice, community service in the Jewish and general community and life-long learning.


Award Recipients:

2015 - The Honorable Myron Greenberg & Alan Silver
2014 - Phyllis Karasov & William Pentelovitch
2013 - Cliff Greene & Ellen Sampson
2012 - Steve A. Brand & Philip S. Garon
2011 - Jerome Ingber & Steve Rubin
2010 - Ron Zamansky
2009 - Howard Stacker
2008 - Melvin Orenstein
2007 - Hon. Rosanne Nathanson & Hon. Allen Oleisky
2006 - Elliot Kaplan & Peter Wolf
2005 - Thomas Feinberg
2004 - Samuel L. Kaplan
2003 - Hon. Roberta Levy
2002 - Morris Sherman
2001 - Marvin Pertzik & Allen Saeks
2000 - Marvin Borman

Arthur T. Pfefer Memorial Award

Every year, the Cardozo Society recognizes a Jewish law student or young lawyer who has demonstrated outstanding leadership potential and commitment to serving the community. This award, the Arthur T. Pfefer Memorial Award, honors the memory of an aspiring St. Paul lawyer who was killed while serving our country in the Vietnam War.


Please note that we have changed the eligibility criteria for the award. To be eligible for consideration, a nominee must be a Jewish law student or lawyer under age 35. The committee looks for nominees who exemplify current and future potential, outstanding leadership, and commitment to the Jewish and general communities. A nominee should have exhibited ambition and determination, shown academic or professional success, and demonstrated a strong commitment to public or community service.


Award Recipients:

2015 - Valeria Sinelnikov Chazin​
2014 - Ron Garber
2013 - Leora Itman
2012 - Robert Goldaris
2011 - Royee Vlodaver
2010 - Jennifer Benowitz
2009 - Jenny Gassman-Pines
2008 - Dori Smith
2007 - Marty Chester
2006 - Mia Sussman

Twin Cities Cardozo Society 2015 - 2016 Steering Committee 





Twin Cities Cardozo Society Chairs:
Phyllis Karasov
Andrew Parker

Steering Committee:
Norman Abramson
Robert L. Barrows
David Bernstein
Robert J. Beugen
Steve Brand
Richard Bunin
Marty Chester
Stuart Goldenberg
Hon. Myron Greenberg
Todd Gurstel
Josh Hasko
Steven Hunegs
Jerry Ingber
Jesse Kibort
​David Krco
​Elizabeth Lamin
Robin Landy
Sharon Lazarus

Hon. Jonathan Lebedoff
Scott Lifson
​Rick Linsk
Susan Minsberg
Charlie Nauen
Leslie Novak
Hon. Allen Oleisky
Jonathan Parritz
Hon. Joseph Rubenstein
Steve Rubin
Haley Schaffer
Marsha Schoenkin
Shira Shapiro
Rhona Shwaid
Sally Silk
Alex Tselos
Burton Weisberg
Edward Winer
​Melissa Wolchansky
Ron Zamansky






16th Annual Dinner Chairs:
Royee Vlodaver
Jesse Kibort

For more information about the Cardozo Society:


Dan Mogelson (St. Paul)



Bill Ressler (Minneapolis)